Current Issue Details

Buy Current Issue


Published: 2002/10/03

Allman Brothers Band, Trey Anastasio among Surprise Guests at 2002 Jammys Presented by TDK

Last night’s 2002 Jammys Presented by TDK with an uplifting, marathon version of ‘Lovelight,’ with countless musicians collaborating on both stages at Roseland Ballroom in New York City. RatDog was joined on the main stage by guitarist Trey Anastasio (Phish), Warren Haynes (Govt Mule, Allman Brothers Band), Al Schnier (moe.), harmonica player John Popper (Blues Traveler), drummer Matt Abts (Govt Mule) and DJ Logic. Meanwhile, the second stage was inhabited by bassist Mike Gordon (Phish), guitarist Fuzz (Deep Banana Blackout), steel pedal guitarist Robert Randolph, saxophonists Skerik (Critters Buggin, Les Claypools Frog Brigade), Hope Clayburn (Deep Banana Blackout), Jessica Lurie (Living Daylights), Tom Tom Club vocalists Mystic Bowie and Victoria Clamp and ‘Flute Girl.’ A lengthy jam ensued between both stages, with musicians egging each other on from across the room (there was also a brief segue in and out of ‘Gloria’).

Earlier in the show, during Govt Mules set, the Allman Brothers Band emerged, joining guitarist Warren Haynes for Desdemona. Anastasio and John Scofield then performed on Sco-Mule. Next, ABB guitarist Derek Trucks returned and Trey remained for Soulshine.
Other notable collaborations included Blue Oyster Cult and moe. on Dont Fear the Reaper and B-52s and Particle on Love Shack.
Look for full details on the show, including a complete list of winners, later today.

Show 0 Comments