Current Issue Details

Buy Current Issue


Published: 2003/01/03

Joey Arkenstat Disrupts Gov’t Mule NYE

The enigmatic Joey Arkenstat created havoc during Gov’t Mule’s New Year’s Eve performance at New York’s Beacon Theater. Arkenstat took the stage near the end of the first set just prior to the New Year’s Eve countdown. Then, following a generous introduction by Warren Haynes and an unkindly retort by Arkenstat the ‘legendary’ bass player (who first came into the public eye through Mike Gordon’s Rising Low documentary) encountered feedback with his bass rig, which led him to smash his instrument on the stage. Arkenstat then berated Haynes and charged at him only to be subdued by Matt Abts, Danny Louis and Haynes guitar tech Brian ‘I’m Not Him’ Farmer.
As with the preceding night, a number of guest musicians performed with the group. Vernon Reid played on a few songs including ‘Third Stone From the Sun’ and ‘Freddy The Freeloader.’ Audley Freed added guitar to Alice Cooper’s ‘I’m Eighteen’ and Hendrix’s ‘The Wind Cries Mary’ among other songs. Mike Farris (Screamin Cheetah Wheelies) took the stage for Steppenwolf’s ‘Don’t Step On The Grass Sam.’ The show also featured a number of bass players with the band including George Porter Jr., Tony Levin, Greg Rzab and Andy Hess. Despite rumors that Gov’t Mule might announce a permanent bassist no such declaration took place.

Show 0 Comments