Current Issue Details

Buy Current Issue


Published: 2003/01/07

Charlie Hunter Quintet to Play New York City Residency; New Album Due

The Charlie Hunter Quintet will play a Thursday night residency at No Moore in Tribeca beginning January 30 and continuing through February 27. The line-up includes John Ellis on tenor saxophone, Curtis Fowlkes on trombone, Gregoire Maret on harmonica and Derrek Phillips on drums. In addition, the quintet plans to release a new album titled Right Now Move on Ropeadope Records (although a street date has not yet been set). A national tour is tentatively scheduled for March.
For more details, visit

Gov’t Mule Nominated for a Grammy

Govt Mule has been nominated for a Grammy in the category of Best Rock Instrumental Performance for its song Sco-Mule. The track, which appears on The Deep End Volume 1, features guitarist John Scofield, bassist Chris Wood and keyboardist Bernie Worrell along with Mules Warren Haynes and Matt Abts. Scofields album Uberjam, is also nominated in the category of Best Contemporary Jazz Album. Other nominations include Dave Matthews Band for Where Are You Going’ (Best Pop Performance By A Duo Or Group With Vocal), Susan Tedeschi for Wait For Me (Best Female Rock Performance), North Mississippi Allstars for 51 Phantom (Best Contemporary Blues Album), Jorma Kaukonen for Blue Country Heart (Best Traditional Folk Album), Bela Fleck for Bear Mountain Hop off of the The Country Bears soundtrack (Best Country Instrumental Performance) and The Blind Boys of Alabama for Higher Ground (Best Traditional Soul Gospel Album).
Bonnaroo alumna Norah Jones garnered eight nominations for Come Away With Me, including Best New Artist, Album of the Year, and Song of the Year for Dont Know Why. Jammy collaborator John Mayer received two nominations, in the category of Best New Artist and Best Male Pop Performance for Your Body is a Wonderland.
Winners will be announced at the 45th Annual Grammy Awards, February 23 at New Yorks Madison Square Garden. The event will be televised on CBS. For the complete list of nominations, visit

Show 0 Comments