Current Issue Details

Buy Current Issue


Published: 2003/07/11

Members of Tongue n Groove, Addison Groove Project Collaborate in All-Star Funk Jam at Gathering of the Vibes

MARIAVILLE, NY – Members of Tongue n Groove took the stage last night as the Gathering of the Vibes began. The set, which was billed as Terrapin All-Star Funk Jam featuring Andrew Gromiller, featured original members of Tongue n Groove (the precursor to Deep Banana Blackout): Gromiller, drummer Eric Kalb, bassist Benj LeFevre, and saxophonist Rob Somerville. The line-up also included current DBB members Bryan Smith and Johnny Durkin as well as keyboardist Barry Seelen and Tommy Stonaha. Midway through the set, Addison Groove Project saxophonists Dave Adams and Ben Groppe joined in for a P-Funk medley, which included We Want the Funk. The show also included other soul classics such as Marvin Gayes Lets Get it On.
Gromiller will release a new CD, titled Organic Banana in the coming months.
The original Deep Banana Blackout line-up will reunite tonight at the Vibes.

Show 0 Comments