Current Issue Details

Buy Current Issue


Published: 2006/12/18

Matthews, Schools, Marsalis and Hicks at the Warren Haynes Christmas Jam

Warren Haynes hosted his 18th Annual Christmas Jam in Asheville this past weekend, and as in years past, the night featured multiple guests appearing with the many acts, all of whom performed to support Habitat For Humanity. The night started out with Haynes performing a solo version of A Million Miles From Yesterday before Kevn Kinney joined him for Get In, Get Out. The John Popper Project Featuring DJ Logic followed, presenting some music from the bands debut recording, as well a take on Time Is Free with Col. Bruce Hampton. Haynes also appeared on Fire In Her Kiss during this set, while Branford Marsalis guested on Lapdance. Following a set from the Taj Mahal Trio, Marty Stuart And His Fabulous Superlatives took the stage, with both Haynes and Marsalis steeping up for the set-closing The Shape I’m In. The New Orleans Social Club set that followed offered numerous guest players, with American Idol Taylor Hicks appearing during Walkin’ To New Orleans along with Mickey Raphael, Popper and Marsalis. Then Haynes, Marsalis and Hicks enlivened Fortunate Son.
Dave Matthews appeared next, delivering a solo set that opened with Bartender and also included Grace Is Gone, Save Me and Crush. Warren Haynes and Mickey Raphael stepped up for Matthews eighth song, a take on Long Black Veil, after which all of Govt Mule appeared for Cortez The Killer, the song which served as the bridge into their performance. Matthews then remained on stage, while Branford Marsalis joined in for All Along The Watchtower. Marsalis held on for a take on Soulshine before the Mule proper delivered versions of Brand New Angel and Unring The Bell from the groups latest release, High & Mighty. A series of guests then bolstered the final songs of the evening: Leaving Trunk featured Taj Mahal and Branford Marsalis, while Dave Schools & Randall Bramblett stepped up for Sco-Mule and Mule. The first encore was a cover of Sugaree with Brendan Bayliss, Marty Stuart and Taylor Hicks, followed by a climactic I Shall Be Released with Bayliss, Stuart, Hicks, Kinney, Mike Barnes, Ivan Neville, Mickey Raphael and Robert Kearns, closing out the night as dawn approached.

Show 0 Comments