Current Issue Details

Buy Current Issue


Published: 2008/02/05

Deadheads For Obama On Super Tuesday

Last night at the Warfield Theater, Phil Lesh reunited with longtime bandmates Bob Weir and Mickey Hart in support of Democratic Presidential candidate Barack Obama. The Deadheads for Obama show also featured three additional guitarists with RatDog’s Mark Karan joining the line-up along with Barry Sless and Jackie Greene. The group was completed by Steve Molitz on keys and John Molo on a second drum kit. The night featured three sets of music, starting off with ‘Playing In the Band.’ The first set also included ‘Brown Eyed Women,’ ‘Mississippi Half-Step Uptown Toodleloo’ and ‘Come Together.’ Then, after Lesh spoke about Obama and Weir and Hart encouraged everyone to vote, the group returned for a four song acoustic set that ran from ‘Deep Elem Blues’ into ‘Friend Of The Devil,’ followed by ‘Deal’ and ‘Ripple.’ The band then went electric once more for a third set that drew on such Grafteul Dead staples as ‘China Cat Sunflower’ ‘The Wheel,’ and ‘Eyes Of The World.’ The band then offered a nod to Mardi Gras with ‘Iko Iko’ before bringing things full circle with ‘Playing Reprise.’ iClips will offer a rebroadcast of the show today at 2:30 pm PST/5:30 pm EST and 7:30 PM PST/ 10:30 PM EST.

Show 0 Comments