Current Issue Details

Buy Current Issue


Published: 2008/07/25

Paul Kanter, Marty Balin, Grace Slick and Jack Casady Plant Jeffersons Tree of Liberty

Jefferson Starship will pay tribute to its hippie roots the politically charged new album Jeffersons Tree of Liberty. The album features a number of traditional folk and protest songs, including material by Bob Dylan, Richard Thompson, Woody Guthrie, Phil Ochs and The Weavers. The seminal groups current lineup includes classic Jefferson Airplane members Paul Kanter and Marty Balin, as well as later day Jefferson Airplane bassist David Freiberg. New singer Cathy Richardson and longtime Jefferson Starship members Slick Aguilar (lead guitar), Chris Smith (keyboards) and Donny Baldwin (drums) round out the groups current lineup. Tree of Liberty also boasts appearances by Jefferson Airplanes Grace Slick and Jack Casady, in addition to Barry Sless, David Grisman, Prairie Prince and T. Lavitz. The group will appear at Edgartown, MAs Outerland this evening.

Show 0 Comments