Current Issue Details

Buy Current Issue


Published: 2008/11/12

Drive-By Truckers, Donna Jean & The Tricksters Honored at Muscle Shoals Music Awards

Muscle Shoals, Alabama has been a significant locale for recorded music since FAME Studios opened in the late 1950s above a drug store. In 1969, Barry Beckett, Roger Hawkins, Jimmy Johnson and David Hood left FAME to open their own Muscle Shoals Sound Studio, which soon added to the city’s legacy. Yet despite this storied history, 2008 was the debut of the Muscle Shoals Music Awards. It is quite fitting that the Band Of The Year recipient was Drive-By Truckers, which features Patterson Hood, son of the Muscle Shoals Sound Studio co-founder. In addition, former Trucker Jason Isbell was named Musician of the Year, while Donna Jean & The Tricksters took the honors as Jam Band of the Year.

Show 0 Comments