Current Issue Details

Buy Current Issue


Published: 2009/08/20

Norah Jones Releases New Album with Marc Ribot and Smokey Hormel, Pens Relix Cover Story

Norah Jones will release her first album since 2007 this November. Her new project was produced by Jacquire King and features songwriting collaborations with Ryan Adams, Okkervil Rivers Will Sheff, and Jesse Harris. King, who is known for his work with Kings of Leon, Tom Waits and Modest Mouse, helped the jazz-inspired singer explore a new direction with her music.

I knew I wanted to try some different things on this album, Jones said in a statement. Id been playing with the same musicians for a long time. Were all still friendly and I hope we play together again, but it felt like a good time to work with new people and experiment with different sounds. As far as a producer, I wanted someone who could take me out of my comfort zone and find the right musicians to capture what I wanted to do with this collection of songs. I got in touch with Jacquire initially because he engineered one of my favorite records of all time, Tom Waits Mule Variations. He was really eager to do it and we got along really well, which was important.

Jones new band includes Tom Waits collaborators Marc Ribot and Smokey Hormel on guitar. In addition, the project features drummers Joey Waronker (Beck, R.E.M.) and James Gadson (Bill Withers), as well as keyboardist James Poyser (Erykah Badu, Al Green). Instead of piano Jones also plays guitar on much of the record.
Norah Jones also interviewed Monsters of Folk for a recent Relix cover story. Please visit to get the issue in your mailbox.

Show 0 Comments