Current Issue Details

Buy Current Issue


Published: 2010/06/07

Jeff Tweedy Produces New Mavis Staples Record

Wilco’s Jeff Tweedy has produced the new album by soul singer Mavis Staples. You Are Not Alone is scheduled for release on September 14. The album was recorded at Wilco’s Chicago studio The Loft and features Mavis’s touring band of the last three years: Rick Holmstrom (guitar, vocals), Jeff Turmes (bass/vocals), Stephen Hodges (drums) and Donny Gerrar (background vocals). Tweedy also contributes guitar, bass, and vocals to the record, while Wilco’s Patrick Sansone plays keyboard and vibes. Mark Greenberg (vibes, keys) and frequent Neko Case vocal collaborators Kelly Hogan and Nora O’Connor and Richard Parenti also appear.

You Are Not Alone mixes traditional gospel numbers with two new songs written for Mavis by Tweedy, plus her interpretations of songs by Pops Staples, Randy Newman, Allen Toussaint, John Fogerty, Rev. Gary Davis and Little Milton.

Staples will support the record with appearances at Lollapalooza and Wilco’s Solid Sound Festival.

Track listing for Mavis Staples, You Are Not Alone

1. You Don’t Knock (Pops Staples/Wesley Westbrook)
2. You Are Not Alone (Jeff Tweedy)
3. Downward Road (Pops Staples)
4. In Christ There is No East and West (traditional; arranged by Jeff Tweedy)
5. Creep Along, Moses (traditional)
6. Losing You (Randy Newman)
7. I Belong to the Band (Rev. Gary Davis)
8. Last Train (Allen Toussaint)
9. Only the Lord Knows (Jeff Tweedy)
10. Wrote A Song for Everyone (John Fogerty)
11. We’re Gonna Make It (Little Milton)
12. Wonderful Savior (traditional)
13. Too Close To Heaven / I’m On My Way to Heaven Anyhow (Prof. Alex E. BradfordJr./Brad Pathway)


There are 2 comments associated with this post

Jane Lusk November 5, 2010, 20:52:40

I had the extreme pleasure of seeing Mavis Staples and her amazing band/singers at the Egyptian Theater in Boise on 11/2/10. She was awesome, a word I don’t use lightly. She was even good enough to make up for the intro band which was appallingly bad. If you have the chance to see her, don’t pass it up. If you don’t have the chance, at least pick up her new CD. You won’t be sorry!

Note: It may take a moment for your post to appear

(required) (required, not public)