Current Issue Details

Buy Current Issue


Published: 2010/06/15

Robert Plant’s Band of Joy

Alison Krauss and Robert Plant, Bonnaroo Music Festival, 6/15/08. Photo by John Patrick Gatta

Robert Plant will release his first album since 2007’s Raising Sand on September 14 via Rounder records. Band of Joy, which continues Plant’s exploration of Americana and roots music, was produced by Nashville guitarist Buddy Miller.

“Buddy’s integral to this album, you can hear his taste all over the instrumentation,” Plant said in a statement. “Buddy’s zone is beautiful, with a lot of reflections going back into mid-Fifties rockabilly, the singing fishermen and all the great country stuff, along with the soul and R&B from Memphis.”

The album also feature contributions from Patty Griffin, bassist Byron House and percussionist Marco Giovino. In addition, Band of Joy includes covers of Los Lobos’s “Angel Dance,” Low’s “Silver Rider” and “Monkey” and The Kelly Brothers‘”Falling In Love Again.”

Band of Joy Track Listing:

1. Angel Dance

2. House of Cards

3. Central Two-O-Nine

4. Silver Rider

5. You Can’t Buy My Love

6. I’m Falling In Love Again

7. The Only Sound That Matters

8. Monkey

9. Cindy I’ll Marry You Someday

10. Harm’s Swift Way

11. Satan, Your Kingdom Must Come Down

12. Even This Shall Pass Away

Show 0 Comments