Current Issue Details

Buy Current Issue


Published: 2010/06/24

John Legend and The Roots Wake Up

John Legend & The Roots have confirmed September 21 as the release date for their collaborative album Wake Up!. As previously reported, the album features a range of covers of music from the 60’s and 70’s all “with an underlying theme of awareness, engagement and consciousness.” Highlights include “Wholly Holy” (Marvin Gaye), “Little Ghetto Boy” (Donny Hathaway), “Hard Times” (“Baby Huey and the Babysitters”) and “Hang on in There” (Mike James Kirkland).

“These songs sound so relevant now,” Legend said in a statement. “On most of them, you wouldn’t change a lyric. ‘Wake Up Everybody’ (the album’s first single, featuring contributions from Melanie Fiona and Common) has four verses—the first one is a general statement, the second is about education, third is about health care, and the fourth is about making a better environment. No editing needed.”

The album’s only original composition is Legend’s “Shine,” which is featured in Academy Award-winning director Davis Guggenheim’s upcoming documentary film Waiting for Superman.


There are 3 comments associated with this post

nfl mlb nhl nba jerseys August 30, 2010, 12:09:55

nfl mlb nba nhl jerseys for sale

puma and nike shoes August 30, 2010, 12:10:37

nike shoes and puma shoes

Note: It may take a moment for your post to appear

(required) (required, not public)