Current Issue Details

Buy Current Issue


Published: 2010/09/07

Mike Gordon to Release Moss In October, Tour in November

Photo by Julia Mordaunt

Mike Gordon will release the new solo album Moss on October 19 via Rounder. The Phish co-founder plays a variety of instruments throughout the record, including bass, guitar, piano and drum programming. Page McConnell, Jon Fishman, Joe Russo, Marco Benevento and drummer Doug Belote are also featured on Moss.

According to Gordon, the goal of Moss was for the songs to “be simpler and more accessible as well as highly original, musing on matters of human consciousness and psychology in ways that are as listenable as they are unusual.”

“The Inside In album was kind of dreamy and the Green Sparrow was supposed to be a very awake experience,” Gordon told Relix while in the studio. “This one is sort of in the middle where it’s not quite dreamy but it’s also not pointedly awake. It’s supposed to be maybe more Alpha state – where you’re kind of half-awake and half-asleep, sort of playing with that.”

Gordon has played a few of Moss ’ songs live, including “Idea.” The bassist debuted the song with Phish earlier this summer and with his solo band at moe.down this past weekend. Mike Gordon Band will tour behind Moss this fall.


1. Can’t Stand Still
2. Horizon Line
3. Fire From A Stick
4. What Things Seem
5. Babylon Baby
6. Flashback
7. The Void
8. Got Away
9. Spiral
10. Idea


6 Troubadour West Hollywood, CA
7 The Independent San Francisco, CA
8 Aladdin Theater Portland, OR
10 Crocodile Café Seattle, WA
11 Wilma Theatre Missoula, MT
12 The State Room Salt Lake City, UT
13 Fox Theatre Boulder, CO
14 The Waiting Room Omaha, NE
16 Fine Line Music Café Minneapolis, MN
17 Barrymore Theatre Madison, WI
18 Lincoln Hall Chicago, IL
19 Bluebird Nightclub Bloomington, IN
20 Madison Theater Covington, KY
22 Beachland Ballroom Cleveland, OH
23 Westcott Theatre Syracuse, NY
26 Port City Music Hall Portland, ME
27 Royale Nightclub Boston, MA

Show 0 Comments