Current Issue Details

Buy Current Issue


Published: 2011/03/09

Emmylou Harris’ Hard Bargain

Emmylou Harris will release her next studio album Hard Bargain on April 26 via Nonesuch Records. Harris’ first album since 2008 features 11 new original songs, as well as two covers. The album was produced by Jay Joyce (Cage the Elephant, Patty Griffin) and will also be available in a deluxe edition.

“We did the whole record in about a month, which is quite unusual for me. But I had all the material beforehand. I’d written 11 of the 13 songs and I really wanted to include two more by other writers,” Harris said in a statement. “One of the covers is Ron Sexsmith’s ‘Hard Bargain’ which I absolutely love. The other is by Jay Joyce, called ‘Cross Yourself.’ We did the whole thing with just three musicians, me being one of them. Jay, the producer, and Giles Reeves play everything between them. It’s not a stripped down record though; there’s only one song that’s a little bare bones. I’m basically a slow ballad-y person, but Jay managed to really move the songs up a bit. But they still have the same emotional feel.”

Here’s a look at Hard Bargain

1. The Road
2. Home Sweet Home
3. My Name Is Emmett Till
4. Goodnight Old World
5. New Orleans
6. Big Black Dog
7. Lonely Girl
8. Hard Bargain
9. Six White Cadillacs
10. The Ship on His Arm
11. Darlin’ Kate
12. Nobody
13. Cross Yourself

Show 0 Comments