Current Issue Details

Buy Current Issue


Published: 2011/04/13

Bruce Hornsby: Bride of the Noisemakers

Bruce Hornsby has signed with 429 Records and will release the new live album Bride of the Noisemakers on June 7. The two-disc set captures material recorded live between
2007 and 2009. This incarnation of the Noisemakers consists of bassist J.V. Collier (who has played with Hornsby 17 years), keyboardist/organist John “JT” Thomas (21 years), reed player Bobby Read (18 years), guitarist/mandolin player Doug Derryberry (13 years) and drummer Sonny Emory (nine years). Bride Of The Noisemakers will be available at on May 2 as a $3.99 “Daily Deal.” Digital versions of the album at include exclusive bonus tracks. In addition, Amazon will offer a free download of the exclusive track “Mandolin Rain.”

“In the spirit of musical evolution, I’m always trying to keep my band on their toes,” Hornsby said in a statement. “I can be a slow learner, and sometimes it takes me a while to arrive at the most soulful way to play and sing one of my songs, or anyone’s song for that matter. Our approach to playing allows songs to grow, evolve and change through the years, and this second live album documents where that improvisatory mindset has led us up to this point.”

Here’s a look at Hornsby’s new record

1) Cyclone
2) Country Doctor
3) Funhouse
4) This Too Shall Pass
5) Circus on the Moon
6) Defenders of the Flag
7) Intro-Bobby Read/Variation II (excerpt)
8) Talk of the Town/ Charlie, Woody n’ You
9) What the Hell Happened
10) Fortunate Son/Comfortably Numb
11) Levitate
12) Little Sadie/White Wheeled Limousine

1) The Windup/Big Rock Candy Mountain / Candy Mountain Run
2) Line in the Dust
3) Shadow Hand
4) Tango King
5) Resting Place
6) Michael Raphael
7) Intro Sonata, Movement IV (excerpt)
8) Gonna Be Some Changes Made
9) Dreamland
10) The Good Life
11) Cartoons & Candy
12) Swan Song Just One More
13) Standing on the Moon/Halcyon Days

Show 1 Comments