Current Issue Details

Buy Current Issue

News

Published: 2011/04/21

Talib Kewli, Reggie Watts, Ozomatli, Lee Fields, Slick Rick, Budos Band to Play Free SummerStage Shows

New York’s SummerStage concert series will return this year. Like last year, shows will take place in parks throughout New York’s five boroughs. Central Park’s Rumsey Playfield will remain the series’ marquee venue. Free show highlights include the Blue Note Jazz Festival on June 11 (featuring Medeski Martin & Wood, Josh Roseman & The King Froopy Allstars and Jim Black’s Alasnoaxis), Talib Kewli on June 21, Reggie Watts / Natasha Leggero on June 22, Ozomatli on June 23, Lee Fields & The Expressions and Fitz & The Tantrums on June 25, Slick Rick on July 12, Budos Band on August 3 and WAVVES on August 25.

The free series will be supported in part through ticketed shows at Rumsey Playfield bu the likes of Florence and the Machine with Twin Shadow and Bubbles (6/24), Ratatat (7/13), Emmylou Harris, Levon Helm and Hayes Carll (7/18), Wiz Khalifa (7/25), Wanda Jackson (7/27), Lykke Li (8/1) and Guster with Jack’s Mannequin (8/8).

Below is a look at selected SummerStage performances. Please visit www.summerstage.org for a complete list of music, comedy, spoken word and theatrical performances.

Commissioned Works

EVERYBODY LOVES THE SUNSHINE”
ROY AYERS and THE JAZZ MAFIA plus special guests
Saturday, July 02
Mainstage at Central Park, Manhattan
7:00 pm
“Everybody Loves the Sunshine” celebrates the 70th birthday of famed jazz, funk and soul pioneer, Roy Ayers with world premieres from the acclaimed collective of jazz virtuosos, top MCs, singers, arrangers, and composers called The Jazz Mafia, which has re-envisioned Ayers’ classic works for this special show.

ARMITAGE GONE! DANCE and special musical guest VIJAY IYER
Friday, July 15 – Saturday, July 16
Mainstage at Central Park, Manhattan
8:00 pm
July 15 – 16 at Mainstage in Central Park, Manhattan
Karole Armitage, dubbed the “punk ballerina” and her celebrated dance company Armitage Gone! Dance will premiere a special commissioned work featuring an original composition by famed 2010 Grammy-nominated, jazz pianist, Vijay Iyer. Opening for Armitage Gone! Dance will be the world premiere of up and coming choreographer, Darrell Grand Moultrie’s new company, Dance Grand Moultrie.

SummerStage 2011 Schedule

NIGHT AT THE CARAVANSERAI
TALES OF WONDER featuring
YO-YO MA, THE SILK ROAD ENSEMBLE
and SILK ROAD CONNECT STUDENTS
Tuesday, June 07
Mainstage at Central Park, Manhattan

Salute to Hip-Hop featuring
EPMD / FUNKMASTER FLEX
Tuesday, June 07
Betsy Head Park, Brooklyn

SPECIAL ED
Wednesday, June 08
Betsy Head Park, Brooklyn

B.T. EXPRESS / FELIX HERNANDEZ RHYTHM REVUE
Thursday, June 09
Betsy Head Park, Brooklyn

The Blue Note Jazz Festival:
MEDESKI MARTIN & WOOD,
JOSH ROSEMAN & THE KING FROOPY ALLSTARS,
JIM BLACK’S ALASNOAXIS
Saturday, June 11
Mainstage at Central Park, Manhattan

INDOMITABLE: JAMES BROWN
Featuring BURNT SUGAR, THE ARKESTRA CHAMBER
and BRANDON VICTOR DIXON
Directed by Patrica McGregor
SummerStage Theater
Friday, June 17 and Saturday, June 18
Von King Park, Brooklyn

TALIB KWELI
Tuesday, June 21
Red Hook Park, Brooklyn

REGGIE WATTS / NATASHA LEGGERO
Wednesday, June 22
Mainstage at Central Park, Manhattan

OZOMATLI
Wednesday, June 22
Red Hook Park, Brooklyn
Show at 7:00 pm

WE ARE SCIENTISTS / MILAGRES
Thursday, June 23
Red Hook Park, Brooklyn

REGGIE WATTS / DJ STORMIN’ NORMAN
Friday, June 24
Red Hook Park, Brooklyn

LEE FIELDS & THE EXPRESSIONS
FITZ & THE TANTRUMS
ANDREYA TRIANA
DJ RICH MEDINA
Saturday, June 25
Mainstage at Central Park, Manhattan

Salute to Hip-Hop featuring
FUNKMASTER FLEX and Special Guests
Tuesday, June 28
Soundview Park, Bronx

Comedy Central Park starring
JIM GAFFIGAN with special guest JOHN PINETTE
Wednesday, June 29
Mainstage at Central Park, Manhattan

EVERYBODY LOVES THE SUNSHINE”
ROY AYERS and THE JAZZ MAFIA SYMPHONY plus special guests
Saturday, July 02
Mainstage at Central Park, Manhattan
Doors at 6:00 pm, Show at 7:00 pm

SLICK RICK with DJ BRUCIE B
Tuesday, July 12
Crotona Park, Bronx

XCSTACY
Wednesday, July 13
Crotona Park, Bronx

PINK MARTINI
Sunday, July 17
Mainstage at Central Park, Manhattan

THE MANHATTANS / FELIX HERNANDEZ RHYTHM REVUE
Sunday, July 17
Crotona Park, Bronx

THE METROPOLITAN OPERA SUMMER RECITAL SERIES
with Layla Claire, Renée Tatum, Ryan Speedo Green
and pianist Bradley Moore
Tuesday, July 19
Crotona Park, Bronx

KOOL MOE DEE
Tuesday, July 19
Queensbridge Park, Queens

HAROLD MELVIN’S BLUE NOTES /
FELIX HERNANDEZ RHYTHM REVUE
Wednesday, July 20
Queensbridge Park, Queens

Salute to Hip-Hop featuring
FUNKMASTER FLEX and Special Guests
Presented in Association with Globe Star Media
Thursday, July 21
Queensbridge Park, Queens

MARCELO D2 / PITTY / DJ NUTS
Presented in Association with Brasil Summerfest
Sunday, July 24
Mainstage at Central Park, Manhattan

WANDA JACKSON / IMELDA MAY
Wednesday, July 27
Mainstage at Central Park, Manhattan

YEMEN BLUES / WATCHA CLAN / SHABATE / AWESOME TAPES FROM AFRICA
Sunday, July 31
Mainstage at Central Park, Manhattan

THE SUGARHILL GANG
Tuesday, August 02
Tappen Park, Staten Island

THE BUDOS BAND
Wednesday, August 03
Tappen Park, Staten Island

ANDY COONEY
Thursday, August 04
Tappen Park, Staten Island

SHELEBRATION! A TRIBUTE TO THE WORKS OF SHEL SILVERSTEIN
Produced by Hal Willner
Saturday, August 06
Mainstage at Central Park, Manhattan

FRIENDLY FIRES / THE NAKED AND FAMOUS / CULTS
Presented in association with Mean Red Productions
Sunday, August 07
Mainstage at Central Park, Manhattan

Gospel Explosion featuring
DONALD LAWRENCE and special guests
Hosted By HEZEKIAH WALKER
Presented in Association with Globe Star Media and WLIB
Sunday, August 14
Mainstage at Central Park, Manhattan

WAVVES
Thursday, August 25
East River Park, Manhattan

Charlie Parker Jazz Festival featuring
TOOTS THIELEMANS
JAMES CARTER
TIA FULLER
CILE McLORIN SALVANT
Saturday, August 27
Marcus Garvey Park, Manhattan

Charlie Parker Jazz Festival featuring
ARCHIE SHEPP QUARTET
MADELEINE PEYROUX
THE GERALD CLAYTON TRIO
Sunday, August 28
Tompkins Square Park, Manhattan

SummerStage Benefit Shows 2011 Schedule

Florence and the Machine
with Twin Shadow and Bubbles
Friday, June 24

Ratatat
Wednesday, July 13

Emmylou Harris, Levon Helm and Hayes Carll
Monday, July 18

Wiz Khalifa
Monday, July 25

Lykke Li
Monday, August 1

Guster with Jack’s Mannequin
Monday, August 8

Comments

There are no comments associated with this posts

Note: It may take a moment for your post to appear

(required) (required, not public)