Current Issue Details

Buy Current Issue


Published: 2011/04/26

Bon Iver: New Album, Big Band, Indie-Outing

Justin Vernon has just confirmed his initial Bon Iver dates for 2011. June 21 is the official release date of Bon Iver’s new self-titled album and the group will support it with a series of summer dates. First up is a July 23 gig at the Riverside Theatre in Milwaukee, WI, with an August 10 performance as part of the Celebrate Brooklyn! at the Prospect Park Bandshell also confirmed as well. For these shows Vernon will be joined by Sean Carey (drums, piano), Mike Noyce (guitar), Matt McCaughan (drums), Rob Moose (violin/guitar) Mike Lewis (bass) and a three piece horn section of Reginald Pace, Colin Stetson and C.J. Camerieri.

Last week in his indie-outing blog series on, Mike Greenhaus outlined “Before he recorded music under the alias Bon Iver, Justin Vernon played in the self-described “post-Phish” band Mount Vernon in high school and college. The group’s members first jammed together in jazz camp in their teens and took a meaningful trip to the H.O.R.D.E. festival together in 1997. The complex music of Phish, the Grateful Dead and jazz were early influences, though the band sounded more like a mix between Bruce Hornsby and Counting Crows than moe. or String Cheese. As the musicians discovered roots rock, the band evolved into DeYarmond Edison from 2002-2006. The outfit’s early setlists were dotted with covers by the Grateful Dead and The Meters.”

Show 0 Comments