Current Issue Details

Buy Current Issue


Published: 2011/05/13

Paul McCartney, My Morning Jacket, The Black Keys, Lou Reed, Ivan Neville on New Buddy Holly Tribute

My Morning Jacket, The Black Keys, Graham Nash, Modest Mouse, Nick Lowe, Florence + The Machine, Cee Lo Green, Paul McCartney, Kid Rock, Lou Reed, Patti Smith and Julian Casablancas are among the acts slated to appear on Rave On Buddy Holly. The 19-song collection of Holly covers is scheduled for release on June 28, 2011 to coincide with what would have been Holly’s 75th birthday. Holly would be 75-years-old on September 7.

The album aims to re-create Holly’s classic songs: Florence + The Machine bring an industrial New Orleans vibe to “Not Fade Away” (with help of Ivan Neville), Modest Mouse reworks “That’ll Be the Day” as an avant-garde number and Lou Reed adds keyboard loops to “Peggy Sue.” The tracks were produced by the likes of Matt Sweeney, Joe Henry, Jack White and C.C. Adcock.

Here’s a look at the track listing for Rave On Buddy Holly:

1. “Dearest” – The Black Keys (2:06)
2. “Every Day” – Fiona Apple & Jon Brion (2:19)
3. “It’s So Easy” – Paul McCartney (4:35)
4. “Not Fade Away – Florence + The Machine” (4:02)
5. “(You’re So Square) Baby, I Don’t Care” – Cee Lo Green (1:31)
6. “Crying, Waiting, Hoping” – Karen Elson (2:25)
7. “Rave On” – Julian Casablancas (1:55)
8. “I’m Gonna Love You Too” – Jenny O. (2:11)
9. “Maybe Baby” – Justin Townes Earle (2:06)
10. “Oh Boy” – She & Him (2:18) 11. “Changing All Those Changes” – Nick Lowe (1:41)
12. “Words Of Love” – Patti Smith (3:20)
13. “True Love Ways” – My Morning Jacket (3:25)
14. “That’ll Be The Day” – Modest Mouse (2:15)
15. “Well…All Right” – Kid Rock (2:09)
16. “Heartbeat” -The Detroit Cobras (2:20)
17. “Peggy Sue” – Lou Reed (3:19)
18. “Peggy Sue Got Married” – John Doe (3:57)
19. “Raining In My Heart” – Graham Nash (3:30)

Show 1 Comments