Current Issue Details

Buy Current Issue


Published: 2011/05/25

Lucinda Williams, Sharon Jones, Steve Winwood, John Popper, BB King to Play on New Steve Cropper Album

As previously reported, Booker T. Jones will release an all-star album this spring. Now, Jones’ Booker T. and the MG’s guitarist Steve Cropper has confirmed a guest-heavy album of his own. Billed as tribute to to fellow guitarist Lowman “Pete” Pauling and his pioneering R&B group The 5 Royales, Dedicated will feature the core band of David Hood (bass), Spooner Oldham (piano/electric piano, organ), Steve Ferrone (drums), Steve Jordan (drums, percussion), Neal Sugarman (from the Dap Kings) and producer Jon Tiven (Felix Cavaliere).

The album will also boast guest appearances by no less than Lucinda Williams, Brian May, Sharon Jones, Steve Winwood, John Popper, BB King, Bettye LaVette, Delbert McClinton, Buddy Miller and Shemekia Copeland. “Part of getting older and still being able to play and all of that—-at a certain point it becomes about educating the next generation,” Cropper said in a statement. “I’ve already had four of five careers and I’m lucky to be alive. If I can educate these young ears as to where the music started, because they’re always asking, and if I can get them interested in the Five Royales I’ve done something.” The album is slated for release on August 9.

Here’s a look at the album’s track listing

1) 30 Second Lover (w/ Steve Winwood)
2) Don’t Be Ashamed (w/ Bettye LaVette & Willie Jones)
3) Baby Don’t Do It (w/ BB King & Shemekia Copeland)
4) Dedicated To The One I Love (w/ Lucinda Williams & Dan Penn)
5) My Sugar Sugar ( w/ John Popper)
6) Right Around The Corner (w/ Delbert McClinton)
7) Help Me Somebody (Instrumental)
8) I Do ( w/ Brian May)
9) Messin’ Up (w/Sharon Jones)
10) Say It (w/ Bettye LaVette)
11) Slummer The Slum (w/ Buddy Miller
12) Someone Made You For Me (w/Dan Penn)
13) Think (instrumental)
14) Come On And Save Me (Leblanc and Sharon Jones)
15) When I Get Like This (w/ Lucinda Williams)

Show 0 Comments