Current Issue Details

Buy Current Issue


Published: 2011/09/10

Brian Wilson, Jackson Browne, Ringo Starr to Pay Tribute to Buddy Holly

In celebration of Buddy Holly’s 75th birthday, Verve and Forecast Records have released the tribute album Listen To Me: Buddy Holly. The 16-track compilation will feature such storied artists as Stevie Nicks, Patrick Stump, Lyle Lovett, Jackson Browne, The Fray, and Ringo Starr, among others.

“Buddy did everything he could to make sure that talented young musicians and songwriters got a real chance,” explained his wife, Maria Elena Holly. “He even started his own label to make this possible.”

Produced by Grammy Award-winning producer Peter Asher, his personal connection to the late Holly helped craft the covers to take on a modern sound while keeping the original simplicity of Holly’s hits.

“Buddy showed us how brilliant and unforgettable songs could be written using the simplest of chords,” Asher said. “He taught us the value of a lyric which came from the heart and the importance of making records the way you heard them in your head.”

Listen to Me: Buddy Holly Track List:

1. Stevie Nicks – Not Fade Away
2. Pat Monahan – Maybe Baby
3. Brian Wilson – Listen To Me
4. Imelda May – I’m Lookin’ For Someone To Love
5. Jackson Browne – True Love Ways
6. Cobra Starship – Peggy Sue
7. The Fray – Take Your Time
8. Ringo Starr – Think It Over
9. Chris Isaak – Crying Waiting Hoping
10. Linda Ronstadt – That’ll Be The Day
11. Jeff Lynne – Words Of Love
12. Lyle Lovett – Well All Right
13. Natalie Merchant – Learning The Game
14. Patrick Stump – Everyday
15. Zooey Deschanel – It’s So Easy
16. Eric Idle – Raining In My Heart

Show 2 Comments