Current Issue Details

Buy Current Issue


Published: 2011/12/22

New Monsoon’s Jeff Miller Goes Truly Solo

New Monsoon/Contribution guitarist Jeff Miller has finished a truly solo album. Ancient Wisdom was completely written, recorded and engineered by Miller himself.

“I produced it at home in my small cottage, deep in the Northern California forest, with bare-bones recording equipment and a cheap mic,” Miller said in a statement. “By doing it at home like this I definitely captured a unique vibe unlike any “studio” recording I’ve done. The environs of the woods crept into the songs for sure. I’ve always written in the band context and gone into a studio to record. When you’re working with other people, you work a certain way. When you are all alone at home, your inner Jack Torrance (The Shining) comes out. Spending all day trying to get just one good take can make you go insane!”

A few special guests appear on the album, including Danielle Levy vocals who sings on “Our Arms” and Railroad Earth’s Tim Carbone, who plays violin on “Journey to the Ganges.” She is Everywhere was also written with Hot Buttered Rum’ss Erik Yates.

Here’s a look at the album’s tracks

1. Andaman Dream
2. Passionate Beggar
3. Raven’s Eye
4. Walk Upon the Water
5. Montana
6. She is Everywhere
7. Desolation Summit
8. Our Arms
9. Orbits
10. Journey to the Ganges

Show 2 Comments