Current Issue Details

Buy Current Issue


Published: 2012/01/04

Bonnie Raitt Returns

Bonnie Raitt will release Slipstream, her first new album in seven years, on April 10. The album will come out on her new label Redwing Records. Raitt self-produced most of the disc, though Joe Henry (Allen Toussaint, Solomon Burke) helmed four of the album’s tracks. Bill Frisell, NRBQ’s Al Anderson, Ireland’s Paul Brady and Maia Sharp also appear on the recording.

Most of the Slipstream tracks are covers. “Hearing myself in this new setting, how deep and effortlessly it went down, really inspired me to start a new record,” Raitt said in a statement. “Working with Joe and his guys and then reuniting with mine really got my creative juices flowing again.”

“I took a hiatus from touring and recording to get back in touch with the other part of my life,” says Raitt says, who recently lost her parents. “I’m so inspired and so proud to continue these traditions, whether it’s reggae or soul or blues. I’m in the slipstream of those who came before me, and I’m leaving one for those behind me.” Raitt will tour behind the release in 2012.

Here’s a look at the album’s songs and authors

1. Used To Rule The World (Randall Bramblett)
2. Right Down The Line (Gerry Rafferty)
3. Million Miles (Bob Dylan)
4. You Can’t Fail Me Now (Joseph Lee Henry/Loudon Wainwright III)
5. Down To You (George Marinelli/Bonnie Raitt/Randall Bramblett)
6. Take My Love With You (Gordon Kennedy/Wayne Kirkpatrick/Kelly Price)
7. Not Cause I Wanted To (Al Anderson/Bonnie Bishop)
8. Ain’t Gonna Let You Go (Al Anderson/Bonnie Bramlett)
9. Marriage Made in Hollywood (Paul Brady/Michael O’Keefe)
10. Split Decision (Al Anderson/Gary Nicholson)
11. Standing in the Doorway (Bob Dylan)
12. God Only Knows (Joseph Lee Henry)

Show 3 Comments