Current Issue Details

Buy Current Issue


Published: 2012/01/13

NYC Freaks Ball XII Lineup Announced

The Freaks Ball is an annual party hosted by the influential Yahoo! group the NYC Freaks. Over the years, the event has included a handful of bands before they broke on a national level, including The Duo, Robert Randolph, Apollo Sunshine, RANA, Bustle in Your Hedgerow, New Mastersounds and members of the extended Daptone family. This year, Freaks Ball XII will expand to a two night event, taking place at New York’s Brooklyn Bowl on January 20 and 21.

On the first night, Portugal. The Man will headline the evening and will be supported by a Sam Champion reunion performance. Noah Chernin from Sam Champion played Freaks Ball III at Bowery Ballroom in 2003, sitting in with RANA when he was their tour manager.

Night two will be a more traditional Freaks event, featuring a jam session with the Freaks B’All Stars that will include Eddie Roberts (The New Mastersounds), Joe Russo, Marco Benevento, Ron Johnson (Warren Haynes Band) and more special guests to be announced. Opening the show that night will be a quartet consisting of Eric Deutsch, Joe Russo, Scott Metzger (Wolf!) and Hagar Ben-Ari (Dap Kings). It is worth noting that Metzger has played every Freaks Ball since 2003 with a variety of projects while Russo has only missed a few.

Tickets to the January 20 show went on sale today. Ticket info for January 21 has yet to be announced but check back in the coming days for further info.

Show 0 Comments