Current Issue Details

Buy Current Issue


Published: 2012/01/19

John Scofield, Derek Trucks, Nels Cline to Join Warren Haynes on Tommy Bolin Tribute

Tommy with Deep Purple

Derek Trucks, Peter Frampton, Wilco’s Nels Cline, Steve Lukather, Steve Morse, Brad Whitford, Joe Bonamassa, John Scofield and several other acts have signed onto the new Tommy Bolin tribute, Tommy Bolin and Friends – Great Gypsy Soul. Produced by Bolin’s onetime producer Greg Hampton and Warren Haynes, the album is slated for release on March 27 via 429 Records. Oz Noy (Roger Glover, Nile Rodgers, solo), Prairie Prince (The Tubes), Myles Kennedy (Alter Bridge), Steve Morse (Deep Purple, Dixie Dregs, solo), Sonny Landreth and Big Sugar. Many of these players performed alongside rare archival Bolin recordings, making the album something of a hybrid collection. The album’s finale, “Marching Bag—Movement Four,” find Haynes, Cline, Noy, Bonamassa, Whitford and Frampton all playing alongside Bolin. A series of tribute concerts are also in the works.

Show 1 Comments