Current Issue Details

Buy Current Issue


Published: 2012/01/29

Ruthie Foster Set To Release Let It Burn

Warren Haynes Band vocalist Ruthie Foster will release her new album, Let It Burn, on Tuesday, January 31 via Blue Corn Music. To celebrate the release, Foster will also appear that night at Los Angeles’ Grammy Museum for a performance and interview that will be webcast live.. The performance kicks off a tour that continues into late spring with stops in most major cities including Austin for SXSW in March. Acclaimed Mississippi singer-songwriter Paul Thorn will share the bills at the shows with Foster.

An impressive lineup of musicians appear on Foster’s album, including The New Orleans players—the Funky Meters’ rhythm section consiting of bassist George Porter Jr. and drummer Russell Batiste, guitarist Dave Easley, and renowned saxophonist James Rivers—legendary gospel singers the Blind Boys of Alabama and soul icon William Bell.

Let It Burn also features covers of songs originally performed by Adele, The Black Keys, Los Lobos, Johnny Cash, The Band, Pete Seeger, Crosby, Stills & Nash, John Martyn, Robbie Robertson in addition to several new Ruthie Foster compositions. You can preview the album and check out clips from the recording sessions below.


Show 1 Comments