Current Issue Details

Buy Current Issue


Published: 2012/02/02

Jethro Tull’s Ian Anderson to Release Thick As A Brick 2

Following the recent announcement of a tour commemorating the 40th anniversary of Jethro Tull’s Thick As A Brick, guitarist Ian Anderson will release a sequel to the original album on April 3.

Thick As A Brick was released in 1972 and went on to reach number one on the Billboard Chart. The lyrics to the album’s title track were credited at the time to the fictitious child character, Gerald Bostock, whose parents supposedly lied about his age. On Thick As A Brick 2, Anderson picks up the tale 40 years later by examining the the latter half of Gerald Bostock’s life. According to a statement from Anderson:

“As we baby-boomers look back on our own lives, we must often feel an occasional ‘what-if’ moment. Might we, like Gerald, have become instead preacher, soldier, down-and-out, shopkeeper or finance tycoon?” Adding, “And those of more tender years – the social media and internet generation – may choose to ponder well the myriad of chance possibilities ahead of them at every turn…..”

For the first time since 1972, Anderson and fellow musicians John O’Hara (keyboards), David Goodier (bass), Florian Opahle (guitar) and Scott Hammond (drums) will take to the road to perform the original album in its entirety. In addition, there will be a second part to the show where Anderson and the band will also perform the sequel. See below for the full Thick As A Brick 2 tracklisting.

Thick As A Brick 2 Tracklist
1. From A Pebble Thrown
2. Pebbles Instrumental
3. Might-have-beens
4. Upper Sixth Loan Shark
5. Banker Bets, Banker Wins
6. Swing It Far
7. Adrift And Dumfounded
8. Old School Song
9. Wootton Bassett Town
10. Power And Spirit
11. Give Till It Hurts
12. Cosy Corner
13. Shunt And Shuffle
14. A Change Of Horses
15. Confessional
16. Kismet In Suburbia
17. What-ifs, Maybes And Might-have-beens

Show 8 Comments