Current Issue Details

Buy Current Issue


Published: 2012/03/15

Willie Nelson Announces New Album Heroes

Willie Nelson will release a new album, entitled Heroes, on May 15 via Legacy Recordings. The album features new songs and covers including Coldplay’s “The Scientist,” and an interpretation of Pearl Jam’s “Just Breathe.” Featured guest artists include country legend Merle Haggard, Snoop Dogg, Kris Kristofferson, Billy Joe Shaver, Sheryl Crow, Jamey Johnson, as well as Nelson’s sons Lukas Nelson and Micah Nelson. Heroes marks the first release as part of Nelson’s new record deal with Legacy Recordings.

Produced by Buddy Cannon, the album was mostly recorded by Steve Chadie at Pedernales Recording Studio in Austin, TX with a few additional tracks cut at Cannon Productions and Sound Emporium Recording Studios in Nashville, TN.

Backing Nelson on Heroes is the “Roll Me Up” Band, featuring Kevin “Swine” Grantt (bass), Bobby Terry (electric guitar, acoustic guitar), Jim “Moose” Brown (piano, Wurlitzer, B-3 organ), Mike Johnson (steel guitar), Tony Creasman (drums), Mickey Raphael (harmonica), Lukas Nelson (electric guitar) back Nelson on the new record. Additional musicians on the record include Paul Shaffer (B-3 organ), Butch Carr (synthesizer), Steve Brewster (drums) and producer Buddy Cannon (bass, acoustic guitar).

Show 6 Comments