Current Issue Details

Buy Current Issue


Published: 2012/03/20

Jimmy Page Releases Lucifer Rising and Other Sound Tracks

Legendary guitarist Jimmy Page released a new LP, titled Lucifer Rising and Other Sound Tracks, today via his official website. According to a statement from Page himself:

The title music, along with other musical pieces recorded at my home studio in the early Seventies, have been revisited, remixed and released for the first time. This is a musical diary of avant-garde compositions and experiments, one of which was to appear on the film ‘Lucifer Rising.’ The collection has been exhumed and is now ready for public release.

Page reportedly composed the music for director Kenneth Anger’s short film, but following a dispute, the music was never officially released. See below for the full tracklist.

You can now purchase the album via Jimmy Page’s official website.

Jimmy Page, ‘Lucifer Rising and Other Sound Tracks’ Tracklist

Side One
1) Lucifer Rising – Main Track

Side Two
1) Incubus
2) Damask
3) Unharmonics
4) Damask – Ambient
5) Lucifer Rising – Percussive Return


There are 4 comments associated with this post

Jen March 22, 2012, 00:02:39

How odd that Jimmy keeps looking to the past for inspiration. The last time Jimmy did anything new was 1998. 14 years later..This overpriced record seems more like dredging up the past, than anything else.

Mike April 15, 2012, 17:43:04

It’s not odd in the least, it’s called making money. How odd that you think otherwise.

Tom April 23, 2012, 00:14:29

He’s not “dredging’ up anything.Jimmy is a Tremendous Muscian who has done massive amounts of work, studio and live.Zeppelin is only a fraction of what he has done…beleive it or not.All he is trying to do is have some of his work finally see the light of day…and rightfully so…even his most mediocre work is very inspiring, in fact, it’s probably better than many others best…Certainly nowadays.
As far as the money, i don’t think jimmy has to worry about money, i don’t even think he has to release anything new at this point, with the Huge solid body of work he has..zeppelin only being a part of that..and i’m sure there will be more to come because i know for a fact there is a lot of unreleased material of his,Jimmy can spend the rest of his days Happily with what he has done.The Man is almost 70, Trust me, he has proven himself,many others have not, nor will they ever.

Alexandre August 11, 2012, 16:20:15

I’ll gear this review to 2 types of peploe: current Zune owners who are considering an upgrade, and peploe trying to decide between a Zune and an iPod. (There are other players worth considering out there, like the Sony Walkman X, but I hope this gives you enough info to make an informed decision of the Zune vs players other than the iPod line as well.)

Note: It may take a moment for your post to appear

(required) (required, not public)