Current Issue Details

Buy Current Issue


Published: 2012/03/23

Akron/Family Spawns Dana Buoy

Akron/Family drummer Dana Janssen will release a solo album under the alias Dana Buoy. Described as “a rhythmic and vibrant dedication to the joyous feelings of summer love,” Summer Bodies is slated for release this May via Lefse Records. As his camp explains:

What started as hopeful love notes left on an answering machine in Oregon were later crafted into an album in a bungalow near a jungle lagoon in Thailand. Armed with nothing more than a laptop, an MPC1000, and the enchantment of the paradise found there, the songs began to take shape, mimicking the tropic forms that surrounded them.

The record was completed months later in Brooklyn and was fleshed out almost solely by Buoy with live drumming, guitar, thumb piano, and samples built from omnichords, analog synthesizers and iPad apps. During the recording, Buoy (real name: Dana Janssen) and his engineer weathered an earthquake, followed by Hurricane Irene – neglecting to evacuate and maintaining days of isolation brought on by the tropical storm The result is Summer Bodies, the culmination of over a year of songwriting and traveling. A dream pop record combining elements of Afro beats, synth pop, and what Buoy refers to as “Tropicore”. The songs connect the dots between Paul Simon and Drake, providing a sonic spaceship ride from the beach party to the after party.

Dana Buoy will tour in support of the project. This evening he will perform at Cat’s Cradle, NC’s Cat’s Cradle with Youth Lagoon.

Here’s a look at Summer Bodies ‘track listing

1.) Anatomy of Now
2.) Call to Be
3.) So Lucky
4.) Satellite Ozone
5.) Come My Side
6.) Untitled 1
7.) Delicate Suitor
8.) Hand Over Hand
9.) Futures Part
10.) Best Around
11.) We on the Sea

Show 1 Comments