Current Issue Details

Buy Current Issue


Published: 2012/04/18

The Final Recordings of Waylon Jennings

A new compilation record will feature the final recordings by outlaw country legend Waylon Jennings. Slated for release on September 11 via Saguaro Road Records, Goin’ Down Rockin’: The Last Recordings of Waylon Jennings will feature 11 Jennings originals. In addition, the set includes a cover of Tony Joe White’s “Goin’ Down Rockin’” (on which White himself is a guest). Only one of the album’s tracks has been previously released.

Jennings spent hours in a recording studio with his longtime accompanist, Robby Turner and together they laid down twelve tracks using just Waylon’s guitar and vocals and Turner’s bass. The duo planned out the future instrumentation that would be added to the tracks, but Jennings was never able to complete them. A decade after Jennings’ passing, Turner returned to the recordings, finishing each song to honor their original vision. A number of of Jennings’ past collaborators appear on the record, including Reggie Young, Richie Albright and tour companion Tony Joe White.

As previously reported, the country star’s son Shooter Jennings will perform with his father’s band Waymore’s Outlaws at Goose on the Lake Music Festival this spring. This is the first time the younger Jennings has played with Waymore’s Outlaws.

Goin’ Down Rockin’: The Last Recordings of Waylon Jennings

1. Goin’ Down Rockin’
2. Belle of The Ball
3. If My Harley Was Runnin’
4. I Do Believe
5. Friends In California
6. The Ways of the World
7. Shakin’ The Blues
8. Never Say Die
9. Wasting Time
10. Sad Songs & Waltzes
11. She Was no Good for Me
12. Wrong Road To Nashville

Show 1 Comments