Current Issue Details

Buy Current Issue

News

Published: 2012/05/09

Celebrate Brooklyn Will Bring The Del McCoury Band, Trombone Shorty & Orleans Avenue, Lyle Lovett, Little Dragon, The Head and the Heart and More to Prospect Park

The Del McCoury Band, Trombone Shorty & Orleans Avenue, Lyle Lovett, Little Dragon, The Head and the Heart, Keb’ Mo’, Balkan Beat Box and Spirit Family Reunion are among the acts slated to play free shows at Brooklyn, NY’s Prospect Park Bandshell this summer. Part of the park’s annual Celebrate Brooklyn! concert series, the run of shows will also include Lyricist Lounge 20th Anniversary featuring Ghostface Killah, Angélique Kidjo’s Women Waging Peace with Special Guests Laurie Anderson, an evening of music and movies with Saturday Night Fever and the Bee-Gees tribute act Tragedy and a pairing of the great pianist Geri Allen and the world-renowned photographer and video artist Carrie Mae Weems for the world premiere of ‘Slow Fade To Black’ with Esperanza Spalding. As previously reported, Jimmy Cliff will kick off the festivities with a free show on June 5.

Celebrate Brooklyn! will also host a number of ticketed benefit shows at throughout the summer months. Those event includes previously confirmed appearances by Wilco, M. Ward, Yo La Tengo, Sigur Rós, Hot Chip, Dirty Projectors and many others.

Here’s a look at Celebrate Brooklyn!‘s free offerings

Tuesday, June 5, Jimmy Cliff

Saturday, June 9, AfroCubism / Alsarah & The Nubatones

Thursday, June 14, Laura Marling / Michael Kiwanuka / Willy Mason

Friday, June 15, Geri Allen & Carrie Mae Weems: Slow Fade to Black with Esperanza Spalding / Terri Lyne Carrington / Lizz Wright / Patrice Rushen and more!

Saturday, June 16, Balkan Beat Box / Chico Trujillo / Nation Beat

Thursday, June 21, TBA / Latice Crawford

Friday, June 22, Keb’ Mo’ / Natalia Zukerman

Saturday, June 23, Lyricist Lounge 20th Anniversary featuring Ghostface Killah / Camp Lo / Astro / & More

Thursday, June 28, Ballet Hispanico

Friday, June 29, Trombone Shorty & Orleans Avenue / The Brooklyn Steppers / Dayna Kurtz

Saturday, June 30, Angélique Kidjo’s Women Waging Peace with Special Guests Laurie Anderson / Sibongile Khumalo / Somi

Saturday, July 7, Souad Massi / Simon Shaheen

Sunday, July 8, Ezra Jack Keats Family Concert

Friday, July 13 Calle 13 / Ana Tijoux / Ritmo Machine

Saturday, July 14 Movies & Music: Saturday Night Fever / Tragedy

Friday, July 20, Machel Montano / BélO

Saturday, July 21, Arturo Sandoval / Arturo O’Farrill & The Afro Latin Jazz Orchestra

Friday, July 27, The Head and the Heart / Lost in the Trees

Saturday, July 28, Music & Movies: The Muppet Movie Sing-A-Long / Loser’s Lounge

Thursday, August 2, Music & Movie: Franco Zeffirelli’s Romeo and Juliet / The Love Show

Friday, August 3, Wild Flag / Mission of Burma

Saturday, August 4, The Del McCoury Band / Cahalen Morrison & Eli West / Spirit Family Reunion

Thursday, August 9, Complexions Contemporary Ballet

Friday, August 10, Little Dragon / Frankie Rose / Voices of Black

Saturday, August 11, Lyle Lovett / Aoife O’Donovan

Here’s a look at Celebrate Brooklyn!‘s ticketed benefit shows

Tuesday, June 26, Childish Gambino / Danny Brown / Schoolboy Q

Tuesday, July 10, Dirty Projectors / Wye Oak / Purity Ring

Wednesday, July 18, Hot Chip / Gang Gang Dance

Monday, July 23, Wilco / Lee Fields and The Expressions

Tuesday, July 24, Wilco / Lee Ranaldo Band

Tuesday, July 31, Sigur Rós

Tuesday, August 7, M. Ward / Yo La Tengo

Comments

There are no comments associated with this posts

Note: It may take a moment for your post to appear

(required) (required, not public)