Current Issue Details

Buy Current Issue


Published: 2012/05/23

Paul Simon’s Graceland: 25th Anniversary Set For June 5 Release

Legacy Recordings, the catalog division of Sony Music Entertainment, will release the 25th anniversary commemorative editions of Paul Simon’s iconic Graceland album on June 5. The special editions of the album will be released as both a CD/DVD and special Collector’s Edition 2 CD/2 DVD box set.

The first edition contains the original album plus bonus tracks including previously unreleased demos from the 1987 legendary Ovation Studio Sessions in Johannesburg, South Africa and “The Story of Graceland” as told by Paul Simon. The DVD features Under African Skies, a new documentary film chronicling the controversial recording of Graceland and its subsequent impact, travels with Simon back to South Africa, plus bonus scenes and extended interviews.

The special edition box set contains all CD/DVD material plus two books and collectible poster housed in deluxe slipcase. The first book collects new and archival photographs, new interviews with Paul Simon and a complete telling of the Graceland story, while the second book is a facsimile reproduction of Paul’s handwritten lyrics pad for the album.

Graceland: 25th Anniversary editions, including the deluxe box set, may be pre-ordered now via Paul Simon’s official website. See below for the full tracklisting.

Graceland 25th Anniversary Edition Tacklisting

Disc One – remastered Graceland CD
1. The Boy in the Bubble
2. Graceland
3. I Know What I Know
4. Gumboots
5. Diamonds on The Soles of Her Shoes
6. You Can Call Me Al
7. Under African Skies
8. Homeless
9. Crazy Love, Vol. II
10. That Was Your Mother
11. All Around The World or the Myth of Fingerprints

Disc Two – Bonus Tracks
1. Homeless (demo)
2. Diamonds on the Soles of Her Shoes (alternate version)
3. All Around the World or The Myth of Fingerprints (early version)
4. You Can Call Me Al (demo) (previously unissued)
5. Crazy Love (demo) (previously unissued)
6. The Story of “Graceland” – as told by Paul Simon (previously unissued)

Disc Three – DVD 1 – UNDER AFRICAN SKIES- Paul Simon’s Graceland Journey
Bonus footage includes extended interviews with film participants
You Can Call Me Al
The Boy In The Bubble
Diamonds On The Soles Of Her Shoes – From Saturday Night Live, November 22, 1986

Disc Four – DVD 2 – GRACELAND: THE AFRICAN CONCERT – Released on DVD for the first time

Show 0 Comments