Current Issue Details

Buy Current Issue


Published: 2012/05/31

Dan Deacon Announces New Album, Releases First Track

Dan Deacon has announced the release of his new album, America, set for release on August 28 via Domino. According to a press release, the album takes a subtler approach, informed by Deacon’s classical commissions and collaborations, his Carnegie Hall debut, as well as his first film score (for a Francis Ford Coppola film).

“The ecstatic, celebratory sounds found on America, are in compelling contrast with the darker thematic undercurrents. The album demonstrates anger, confusion, and apocalyptic anxiety over corporatism and war, but finds consolation in the geography of the United States and in recent social movements both domestic and international,” reads the press release.

The most raw cut from the album, “Lots,” can be downloaded below. Also check out the album’s full tracklist along with Deacon’s current tour dates.

America Tracklisting

1. Guilford Avenue Bridge
2. True Thrush
3. Lots
4. Prettyboy
5. Crash Jam
6. USA I: Is a Monster
7. USA II: The Great American Desert
8. USA III: Rail
9. USA IV: Manifest

Dan Deacon Tour Dates

07-07 Des Moines, IA—80/35 Festival
07-12 New York, NY—Pier 84 (*)
07-14 Cincinatti, OH—Bunbury Music Festival
07-21 Antigonish, NS—Evolve Festival
09-01 Chicago, IL—North Coast Music Festival
09-07 Raleigh, NC—Hopscotch Music Festival
09-19 Prague, CZ—Meet Factory
09-20 Berlin, DE—Festsall Kreuzberg
09-21 Hamburg, DE—Reepers
09-22 Eindehoven, NL—Area 51
09-23 Amsterdam, NL—Bitterzoet
09-24 Brussels, BE—Botanique
09-25 Paris, FR—Le Trebando
09-26 London, UK—Scala
09-28 Manchester, UK—Islington Mill
09-29 Brighton, UK—The Haunt

(*) = with John Maus

Show 0 Comments