Current Issue Details

Buy Current Issue


Published: 2012/06/01

Guster’s Ryan Miller Scores New Film

Guster frontman Ryan Miller has written and recorded an original score for the new feature film Safety Not Guaranteed. Miller’s soundtrack will also be released as an album on June 5, marking the first time Miller has released a body of work outside Guster since the band formed in 1991. His new song “Big Machine” is performed in the film by Mark Duplass’ character and the soundtrack album is bookended with a studio recording of the song by Duplass. Safety Not Guaranteed also stars Aubrey Plaza, Jake Johnson and Karan Soni. The film was directed by Colin Trevorrow and written by Derek Connolly.

Other soundtrack highlights include Guster’s “Architects And Engineers,” along with “She’s Bound To Get Hurt” by Philadelphia-based indie band Summer Fiction and The Hoppin’ Haole Brothers’ ukulele-powered “Litter Box Beach.” Also featured is “Hard On Your Man,” an unreleased track from Hearts On Fire, a band that included Bob “Woody” Trevorrow, the father of Safety Not Guaranteed director Colin Trevorrow.

“I’ve been a full-time musician for the past 18 years and I can say, without exaggeration, that my involvement with Safety Not Guaranteed has been one of the true highlights of my career,” noted Miller. “It’s been an incredible and indelible experience watching something grow from the germ of an idea to a feature film that has gathered supporters, fans and believers every step of the way. I can’t wait to see where this leads all of us — the cast, the crew and myself — I have a sneaking suspicion this may be one of those films we’re still talking about years down the road.”

The film’s plot centers on an unusual classified ad that inspires three cynical Seattle magazine employees to look for the story behind it. They discover a mysterious eccentric named Kenneth, a likable but paranoid supermarket clerk, who believes he’s solved the riddle of time travel and intends to depart again soon. Together, they embark on a hilarious, smart, and unexpectedly heartfelt journey that reveals how far believing can take you.

Here’s a look at the album’s tracks

1) Big Machine (Acoustic Version) – Mark Duplass
2) Opening – Ryan Miller
3) Architects And Engineers – Guster
4) Gaming Laptop – Ryan Miller
5) She´s Bound To Get Hurt – Summer Fiction
6) First Car Chase – Ryan Miller
7) Litterbox Beach – The Hoppin´ Haole Brothers
8) Hairy Arms – Ryan Miller
9) Slow Chase Pts 1 & 2 – Ryan Miller
10) Grocery Walkout – Ryan Miller
11) Popped Collar – Ryan Miller
12) Hard On Your Man – Hearts On Fire
13) In The Garage – Ryan Miller
14) Time Machine – Ryan Miller
15) Big Machine – Mark Duplass

Show 0 Comments