Current Issue Details

Buy Current Issue


Published: 2012/06/04

Iggy Pop, Ginger Baker, Cyril Neville, Papa Mali and More Featured on Black Keys Tribute Album

An all-star cast of musicians have teamed up on a new album paying tribute to Akron, OH blues rockers The Black Keys. Titled Black on Blues, the tribute features covers of Black Keys tracks performed by a list of R&B and rock & roll greats including Iggy Pop, Ginger Baker, Albert Lee, Papa Mali, Cyril Neville, Devon Allman, Leslie West, Tab Benoit and more.

Highlights of the tribute include collaborations between Iggy Pop (The Stooges) and iconic rock drummer Ginger Baker (Cream, Blind Faith) on “Lonely Boy,” The Kinks’ Dave Davies and Hawkwind guitarist Huw Lloyd Langton on “Money Maker,” as well as guitarist Mike Zito and original Meters percussionist Cyril Neville’s take on “Girl Is On My Mind.”

The album is set for release on June 17 via Cleopatra Records. Check out the full tracklisting below.

Black on Blues Tracklisting:

01. Lonely Boy – Iggy Pop, Ginger Baker
02. Tighten Up – Walter TroutMike
03. Next Girl – Oli Brown Band
04. Money Maker – Dave Davies, Huw Lloyd Langton
05. Girl Is On My Mind – Mike Zito, Cyril Neville
06. Howlin For You – Albert Lee
07. Little Black Submarines – Devon Allman, Mani Neumeier
08. Everlasting Light – Pat Travers
09. Gold On The Ceiling – Tab Benoit
10. I Got Mine – Leslie West
11. Chop And Change – Larry McCray
12. I’ll Be Your Man – Doug Kershaw
13. Dead And Gone – Jackie Lomax
14. When The Lights Go Out – Papa Mali

Show 0 Comments