Current Issue Details

Buy Current Issue


Published: 2012/06/25

Marco Benevento Confirms Additional TigerFace Info

A few days after confirming that he will celebrate the release of his new album TigerFace at Phil Lesh’s Terrapin Crossroads, Marco Benevento has now announced some additional details about the project. TigerFace, which is slated for release on September 11 via The Royal Potato Family, was recorded and mixed by Tom Biller (Silversun Pickups, Elliot Smith, Fiona Apple) and Bryce Goggin (Pavement, Antony & The Johnsons, Phish, Akron/Family). A diverse mix of musicians appear on the album, including drummers Matt Chamberlain (Brad Mehldau, Bill Frisell), John McEntire (Tortoise, The Sea & The Cake) and Andrew Barr (The Slip, Barr Brothers), bassists Dave Dreiwitz (Ween), Reed Mathis (Tea Leaf Green) and Mike Gordon (Phish), violinist Ali Helnwein (Traction Avenue Chamber Orchestra) and saxophonist Stuart Bogie (Antibalas, Superhuman Happiness).

For the first time on one of his records, Benevento also worked with a vocalist, inviting Kalmia Traver (Rubblebucket) to sing on two tracks. “This man is really on to something special,” Traver said in a statement, describing the recording process as “a blast of yes-wave amazing fun energy—there were no ‘NOs,’ only lots of laughter, belting and joyousness.”

“I blindly and fearlessly opened up some doors to different sounds on my record during the course of two years,” Benevento says, “ TigerFace is the beginnings of a new, more melody driven sound with the focus on the impact of the song from start to finish.”

Here’s a look at the album’s tracks

1. Limbs Of A Pine (featuring Kalmia Traver of Rubblebucket)

2. This Is How It Goes (featuring Kalmia Traver of Rubblebucket)

3. Fireworks

4. Going West

5. Eagle Rock

6. Soma

7. Do What She Told You

8. Escape Horse

9. Basilicata

10. This Is How It Goes (Instrumental)

Show 1 Comments