Current Issue Details

Buy Current Issue


Published: 2012/08/08

Donald Fagen’s Sunken Condos

Steely Dan co-founder Donald Fagen will release his fourth solo album for Reprise Records, Sunken Condos, on October 16. His first three solo albums— The Nightfly, Kamakiriad and Morph the Cat —comprised the project known as the Nightfly Trilogy. Sunken Condos begins a new chapter in the creative evolution of Fagen, who is currently touring as part of the Dukes of September Rhythm Revue package.

The nine tracks on Sunken Condos were co-produced by Fagen and Michael Leonhart. All but one track, an Ashkenazi recasting of Isaac Hayes’ “Out of the Ghetto,” are new Fagen originals. Some familiar names from the Steely Dan family of players are on hand (Jon Herington, the Steely Dan horns, Freddie Washington) plus some new faces. The album is said to have a funky feel, very much inline with Fagen’s current work.

Show 4 Comments