Current Issue Details

Buy Current Issue


Published: 2012/08/16

Frank Zappa’s Entire Original Catalog Available On iTunes

For the first time in history, Frank Zappa’s entire original music catalog as it appeared on the legendary and celebrated musician’s own independent label, Barking Pumpkin Records, is being made digitally available on iTunes. Sixty masters, which include 56 albums and 21 re-mastered titles, are being released in digital format following a deal between the Zappa Family Trust and Universal Music Enterprises.

“We are especially pleased to note the timing—that FZ was the first to bring Voter Registration to the concert hall and, since 1971 when the 18-year old vote was passed, he included the admonition to REGISTER & VOTE on every album he released,” says the musician’s widow, Gail Zappa. “Well, his work is back the way he intended it and on each recording you will find his music, the source, the year of release and how old he was when he made it—and the simplest of nods to his love for the idea of Democracy.”

The composer/guitarist passed away in 1993 and was posthumously inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame in ’95 before receiving the Grammy Lifetime Achievement Award in ’97. The UME deal also includes the release of several physical CD recordings which will continue to roll out all the way up to November 2012. See below for a list of the albums that are available on iTunes:

July 31:
1. Freak Out! (1966)
2. Absolutely Free (1967)
3. Lumpy Gravy (1967)
4. We’re Only In It For The Money (1968)
5. Cruising With Ruben & The Jets (1968)
6. Uncle Meat (1969)
7. Hot Rats (1969)
8. Burnt Weeny Sandwich (1970)
9. Weasels Ripped My Flesh (1970)
10. Chunga’s Revenge (1970)
11. Fillmore East, June 1971 (1971)
12. Just Another Band From L.A. (1972)

August 14:
1. Waka/Jawaka (1972)
2. The Grand Wazoo (1972)
3. Over-Nite Sensation (1973)
4. Apostrophe(‘) (1974)
5. Roxy & Elsewhere (1974)
6. One Size Fits All (1975)
7. Bongo Fury (1975)
8. Zoot Allures (1976)
9. Zappa In New York (1978)
10. Studio Tan (1978)
11. Sleep Dirt (1979)
12. Sheik Yerbouti (1979)

Show 6 Comments