Current Issue Details

Buy Current Issue


Published: 2012/08/22

Kings of Leon’s Jared Followill and Mona’s Nick Brown Form Smoke & Jackal

Kings of Leon’s Jared Followill and Mona’s Nick Brown have formed a new side-project, Smoke & Jackal. Their first collaborative record, the six-gong EP1, is slated for release on October 16 via RCA.

Followill and Brown began recording as Smoke & Jackal earlier this year, “fueled by multiple bottles of red wine and a shared fascination with timbre, rhythm and aural adventure.” They set to work at Brown’s Nashville home studio and before the first evening was through, the duo had crafted both “No Tell” and the stunning psychedelic slow jam, “Fall Around.” Just over one week later, EP1 was complete. “Coming together just worked,” says Followill. “I think it’s because we took such an easy approach to it, we didn’t bring any egos to it. We just talked about each other’s ideas, neither one of us got our feelings hurt. It just worked.” EP1 was produced by Smoke & Jackal, and engineered by Nick Brown.


1. Fall Around
2. No Tell
3. You’re Lost
4. Road Side
5. OK OK
6. Save Face

Show 4 Comments