Current Issue Details

Buy Current Issue


Published: 2012/09/10

Sonic Youth Stumps Fans with Archival Release

Over the weekend, Sonic Youth promised some “news” at noon today. The group has been hiatus since shortly after band mainstays Thurston Moore and Kim Gordon announced their separation last fall, so many hoped that the news would pertain to a reunion show or according. As it turns out the news is simply that the avant-garde group will release an archival album, Smart Bar – Chicago 1985 on November 14.

A note from the band reads, “In August 1985 Sonic Youth were touring across the states following the release of their recently released LP Bad Moon Rising. This performance from August 11, 1985 at Chicago’s Smart Bar was recorded on 4-track cassette. This live recording consists of much of Bad Moon Rising and early performances of ‘Secret Girl’ + ‘Expressway to Yr Skull’ later to be released on EVOL, as well as a rare never before released live rendition of “Kat ‘N’ Hat. Mixed and mastered by the band from the original tape source for this double LP edition w/ download card (or CD or digital edition) along w/ liner notes by Gerard Cosloy and Sonic Youth engineer Aaron Mullan and photos by Pat Blashill and Steven Koress and released by Sonic Youth on their own label Goofin’ Records and distributed via Revolver USA.”

Though Sonic Youth recently have no upcoming dates, Moore and Gordon recently completed an album with Yoko Ono.

Sonic Youth – Smart Bar – Chicago 1985

1- Hallowe’en

2- Death Valley ’69

3- Intro/Brave Men Run(In My Family)

4- I Love Her All The Time

5- Ghost Bitch

6- I’m Insane

7- Kat ‘N’ Hat

8- Brother James

9- Kill Yr Idols

10- Secret Girl

11- Flower

12- The Burning Spear

13- Expressway To Yr Skull

14- Making The Nature Scene

Show 1 Comments