Current Issue Details

Buy Current Issue


Published: 2012/09/10

Thom Yorke Previews New Material at PS1

Last week, Radiohead frontman Thom Yorke released the first studio single from his super group Atoms for Peace. In addition to Yorke, the group features red Hot Chili Peppers’s Flea (bass, melodica), Radiohead producer Nigel Godrich (guitar and keyboards), Joey Waronker (drums) and Mauro Refosco (percussion). The band toured a few years ago in support of Yorke’s The Eraser solo release and will release their full-length duet in 2013.

On Saturday, members of Atoms for Peace previewed a few new songs at Queens, NY’s PS1 Warm Up event (a weekly public series held at the art space, which is part of the Museum of Modern Art). Though billed as a DJ set, Yorke and Godrich kicked off their performance with three new songs, which are likely slated for inclusion on the band’s 2013 release. According to Consequence of Sound, during DJ set Yorke and Godrick also “also sampled tracks like “212″ by Azealia Banks, “Once in a Lifetime” by Talking Heads, and “Right Thing To Do” by SBTRKT.” Radiohead famously took their name from a Talking Heads song.

Atoms for Peace’s new single “Default” is now available.

Show 0 Comments