Current Issue Details

Buy Current Issue


Published: 2012/09/13

Members of Yes, King Crimson, Deep Purple, Cream, MC5 Featured on The Who All-Star Tribute

Iggy Pop, Sweet, Todd Rundgren, and The Raveonettes along with members of Yes, Deep Purple, Cream, King Crimson, Mountain, MC5, and more are featured on a new tribute album to The Who. As the legendary rock group near their 50th anniversary, this venerable lineup of artists come together on a celebration of the band’s catalogue, titled Who Are You: An All-Star Tribute to The Who.

The album features several unique pairings including K.K. Downing (Judas Priest) with John Wetton (Asia) and Derek Sherinian (Dream Theater) on the album’s opening track, “Eminence Front.” Elsewhere, the album serves up a punk-infused version of “My Generation” with Knox (The Vibrators), Dave Davies (The Kinks), Rat Scabies (The Damned), while country superstar Gretchen Wilson offers a version of “Who Are You” with legendary Canadian musician Randy Bachman (BTO, The Guess Who) on guitar.

Who Are You: An All-Star Tribute to The Who comes out on October 2 via Cleopatra Records. Check out the full tracklisting below.

Who Are You: An All-Star Tribute to The Who Tracklisting

1. Eminence Front – John Wetton (Asia) • K.K. Downing (Judas Priest) • Derek Sherinian (Dream Theater)
2. Baba O’Riley – Nektar • Jerry Goodman (Mahavishnu Orchestra)
3. I Can See For Miles – Mark Lindsay (Paul Revere & The Raiders) • Wayne Kramer (MC5)
4. Love Reign O’er Me – Joe Elliott (Def Leppard) • Rick Wakeman (Yes) • Huw Lloyd-Langton (Hawkwind) • Carmine Appice (Vanilla Fudge)
5. My Generation – Knox (The Vibrators) • Dave Davies (The Kinks) • Rat Scabies (The Damned)
6. The Kids Are Alright – The Raveonettes
7. Won’t Get Fooled Again – Sweet
8. Anyway Anyhow Anywhere – Todd Rundgren • Carmine Appice (Vanilla Fudge)
9. I Can’t Explain – Iggy Pop
10. Behind Blue Eyes – Pat Travers
11. Magic Bus – Peter Noone (Herman’s Hermits) • Peter Banks (Yes) • Ginger Baker (Cream)
12. Who Are You – Gretchen Wilson • Randy Bachman (Bachman-Turner Overdrive)
13. Pinball Wizard – Terry Reid • Mike Pinera (Blues Image) • Brad Gillis (Night Ranger)
14. Squeeze Box – John Wesley (Porcupine Tree) • David Cross (King Crimson)
15. Bargain – 38 Special • Ted Turner (Wishbone Ash) • Ian Paice (Deep Purple)
16. The Seeker – Joe Lynn Turner (Rainbow) • Leslie West (Mountain)


There are 5 comments associated with this post

Bab's Uvula September 13, 2012, 12:26:46

Other than the fifth track, it sounds like a complete train wreck to me.

Mike G September 13, 2012, 13:23:35

Oh Yeah? Wel Who Th F**K are YOU???

Jeff September 13, 2012, 14:28:57

actually sounds like this might be pretty cool.. also has the potential to be super weird but i like how each song is a collaborative cover not just a straight up cover, minus a few

Cloudy Knight September 14, 2012, 00:07:30

Actually, that 5th track sounds like the biggest train wreck of them all.

Andy Smith September 15, 2012, 03:08:06

Anything like this is always tantalizing, but it’s the curse of the age that we, the average music fan, knows too much now about the way da biz works. Wouldn’t it be great to think that Joe Elliott, Rick Wakeman, Huw Lloyd-Langton and Carmine Appice were all holed away in some studio somewhere bouncing ideas off one another? The way music was and how it always should be. But I’d bet my last quid that they all phoned their bits in to be mix by an anonymous producer who’s probably never met any of them. It’s old-fashioned cheating and dilutes what could be a massive opportunity. That said, I’m really looking forward to listening the whole thing!

Note: It may take a moment for your post to appear

(required) (required, not public)