Current Issue Details

Buy Current Issue


Published: 2012/12/10

Robert Walter’s 20th Congress: Back In Session with New Members, Special Guests

Robert Walter debuted a new version of his 20th Congress at New York’s Brooklyn Bowl on Saturday night. In addition to Walter, this version of the group included longtime saxophonist Cochemea Gastelum, guitarist Will Bernard, Tea Leaf Green bassist Reed Mathis, drummer Simon Lott and percussionist Elizabeth Pupo-Walker. During their set, the members of 20th Congress also invited out Royal Family/Warren Haynes Band singer Alecia Chakour for a take on “Love Having You Around.” Later in the night, Chakour returned to sing lead on a cover of John Lennon’s “Instant Karma.” The cover doubled as a tribute to Lennon, who was murdered the same night 32 years ago.

Robert Walter’s 20th Congress will perform at Fort Collins, CO’s Aggie Theatre on January 24 and Denver, CO’s Cervantes Other Side on January 25. For these shows, the band’s lineup will feature Walter, Gastelum, Lott and his fellow Greyboy Allstars bassist Chris Stillwell.

For more on Walter, be sure to read our recent interview.

Show 2 Comments