Current Issue Details

Buy Current Issue


Howlin Rain Take on "Here Comes Sunshine"

Howlin Rain busted out the Grateful Dead’s “Here Comes Sunshine” late in their set at San Francisco’s Cafe du Nord Saturday night — a dark and heavy take on the tune from 1973’s Wake of the Flood.

Howlin Rain, newly recast as a tight guitar rock four-piece (singer/guitarist Ethan Miller, guitarist Isaiah Mitchell, Bassist Cyrus Comiskey, and drummer Raj Ojha) since the departure earlier this year of keyboardist Joel Robinow, is in the middle of a three-night run with the laid-back San Francisco folk rock band Vetiver.

Vetiver mastermind Andy Cabic joined Howlin Rain for their encore —singing lead on a surprising version of Norman Greenbaum’s “Spirit in the Sky”—a dark and joyful psychedelic boogie woogie, likely quite rarely heard live, in any context.

The run concludes this evening.

Show 0 Comments