Current Issue Details

Buy Current Issue


Published: 2013/01/24

The Allman Brothers Band to Release Classic ’70s Shows

The Allman Brothers Band will re-release two archival recordings on February 12, 2013. Each show will document a different incarnation of the group.

The first recording captures the band’s February 11, 1972 hometown show at Macon, GA’s City Auditorium. The group’s first show after the death of founding guitarist Duane Allman, The Allman Brothers Band’s lineup featured keyboardist Gregg Allman, drummers Butch Trucks and Jaimoe, bassist Berry Oakley and guitarist Dickey Betts. The performance has never been heard in the bootleg market and was recorded two months before Eat A Peach was released.

The second archival recording documents the group’s May 1, 1973 show at Uniondale, NY’s Nassau Coliseum. Though recorded only a little over year after the February 11, 1972, this performance features the lineup of Allman, Trucks, Jaimoe, Betts, new keyboardist Chuck Leavell and bassist Lamar Williams. The bassist joined the band after Oakley’s untimely passing. Four songs from this set have not appeared on any of the previous live or archival releases: “Come & Go Blues,” “Wasted Words,” “Jessica” and “Ramblin’ Man.” Like the 2/11/72 Macon show, this concert is from a two-track reel-to-reel soundboard master tape.

Here’s a look at the ABB’s upcoming releases

City Auditorium, Macon, GA, 2-11-72

Disc 1:
Statesboro Blues 4:09
Done Somebody Wrong 3:34
Ain’t Wasting Time No More 4:15
One Way Out 6:49
Midnight Rider 2:55
You Don’t Love Me 21:37
Stormy Monday 7:58
Hoochie Coochie Man 4:40
Hot ‘Lanta 5:07

Disc 2 :
Les Brers In ‘A’ Minor 11:14
Trouble No More 3:53
Whipping Post 15:45

Nassau Coliseum, Uniondale, NY 5-1-73

Disc 1:
Wasted Words 4:58
Done Somebody Wrong 3:52
Statesboro Blues 4:15
One Way Out 7:42
Stormy Monday 8:46
Midnight Rider 3:13
Jessica 10:25
Come And Go Blues 4:58
Ramblin’ Man 7:55
In Memory Of Elizabeth Reed 15:06

Disc 2:
Trouble No More 4:02
You Don’t Love Me 6:19
Les Brers In ‘A’ Minor 19:12
Whipping Post 18:40
Mountain Jam 31:05

Show 8 Comments