Current Issue Details

Buy Current Issue


Published: 2013/01/31

Iron and Wine: Ghost on Ghost

Iron and Wine will release Ghost on Ghost, their Nonesuch Records debut, on April 15 (It will be released on April 1 on 4AD in Europe, Japan, Australia and New Zealand). Ghost on Ghost is the fifth release from singer-songwriter Sam Beam, using the pen name Iron and Wine. The album was produced by Beam’s longtime associate Brian Deck (Modest Mouse, Califone, Fruit Bats) and follows 2011’s Kiss Each Other Clean. Iron and Wine will support the new release with tour dates throughout 2013.

According to a statement, “ For Ghost on Ghost, Beam sought to move from what he called the ‘anxious tension’ of his two previous records. ‘This record felt like a reward to myself after the way I went about making the last few,’ he says.”

Numerous musicians backed Beam on the recording, including:
Tin Hat Trio’s Rob Burger, Sex Mob’s Steve Bernstein, Brian Blade, Curtis Fowlkes, Tony Garnier, Marika Hughes, Briggan Kraus, Maxim Moston, Tony Scherr, Doug Wieselman, Kenny Wolleson and Anja Wood. Burger has worked with Beam intermittently through the years and handled arrangements for strings and horns on Ghost on Ghost. For the album’s cover, Beam, who is also a visual artist, chose an image from the series “Private Lives” by noted photographer Barbara Crane.

Here’s a look at the album’s tracks

1. Caught in the Briars
2. The Desert Babbler
3. Joy
4. Low Light Buddy of Mine
5. Graces for Saints and Ramblers
6. Grass Windows
7. Singers and the Endless Song
8. Sundown (Back in the Briars)
9. Winter Prayers
10. New Mexico’s No Breeze
11. Lovers’ Revolution
12. Baby Center Stage

Show 0 Comments