Current Issue Details

Buy Current Issue


Published: 2013/03/01

Dead Confederate: In the Marrow

Athens, Georgia’s Dead Confederate will release their next studio album In the Marrow on April 16. Since the band’s last studio album over two years ago, the band has parted ways with longtime drummer, Jason Scarboro, performed Neil Young’s Tonight’s the Night up and down the East Coast and released a series of stray recordings.

In the Marrow was recorded in phases over sixth months with David Barbe at Athens’ Chase Park Transduction between the end of 2011 and the summer of 2012. The album features some new sonic colors, too: As the band explains:

From the swampy opening bass line in “Slow Poisons” to the ethereal coda of “Winter Waters,” In the Marrow demonstrates a band in control of an inimitable drawl tethered between the visceral power of Wrecking Ball and the polished menace of Sugar. This new-found poise empowered [bassist Brantley Senn] to rework two demos from the Sunday Archive Series, the aforementioned “Slow Poisons” and “Dead Poetry,” both of which shine on an album bursting with highlights.

“When I heard them again for the first time in years,” he says, “I immediately began rearranging them because I realized the band had grown into being capable of performing them, which made me very happy because those songs captured a very unique and troubling time in my life.”

All of the members of Dead Confederate stayed busy during the group’s recording hiatus. Frontman Hardy Morris has also written, recorded and performed with Diamond Rugs, the rock ‘n’ roll outfit featuring Deer Tick’s John McCauley and Ian St. Pe of the Black Lips, among others. He also recorded a forthcoming solo album as T. Hardy Morris, while guitarist Walker Howle has followed his passion for visual art, in addition to writing and performing folk music as Tia Madre. Meanwhile, bassist Brantley Senn has focused his efforts on running the band’s new label, Spiderbomb Records, while staying active as a recording engineer.

Here’s a look at the album’s tracks

01. Slow Poisons
02. Vacations
03. Bleed-Through
04. In The Marrow
05. Best Of The Worst
06. Dead Poetry
07. Big City Life
08. Winter Waters

Here’s a look at Dead Confederate’s upcoming shows

April 19 Atlanta, GA—The Earl
April 20 Athens, GA—40 Watt Club
April 26 Savannah, GA—The Jinx
April 27 Moultrie, GA—Dogwood Music Festival
May 3 Tampa, FL—Funshine Music Festival

Show 0 Comments