Current Issue Details

Buy Current Issue


Published: 2013/05/01

Van Dyke Parks to Release First Album in 20 Years

Legendary artist, composer and producer Van Dyke Parks has announced his first album of new material in over 20 years. The record, Songs Cycled, is set for a July 23 release through Bella Union. The Americana pioneer’s latest effort will include original songs, new covers and re-recordings of older tracks. There will be guest vocals from Gaby Moreno and Irana George, and one of the album’s tracks, “Hold Back Time,” is already available for streaming here.

Parks will make a special appearance in support of Songs Cycled in New York on Sunday, May 19 as part of the Big Sur Brooklyn Bridge concert at Music Hall of Williamsburg with Philip Glass, and he will also speak on a panel as part of the Red Bull Music Academy conference on Thursday, May 23.

A complete Songs Cycled tracklist can be found below.

Songs Cycled

1. Dreaming of Paris
2. Hold Back Time
3. Sassafras
4. Black Gold
5. Aquarium
6. Money Is King
7. Wall Street
8. The Parting Hand
9. The All Golden
10. Wedding in Madagascar
11. Missin’ Mississippi
12. Amazing Graces

Show 0 Comments