Current Issue Details

Buy Current Issue


Published: 2013/05/24

An Allman Brothers Band Recording from the Brief Pre-Gregg Era

In March of 1969 Duane Allman gathered guitarist Dickey Betts, drummer Jaimoe, bassist Berry Oakley, drummer Butch Trucks and keyboardist Reese Wynans together for a project that would become the Allman Brothers Band. The group played a small number of gigs before Wynans was replaced by Duane’s brother Gregg Allman. Few recordings from that period exist, but Jambase has found one on YouTube that appears to be from a performance on March 30, 1969.

The setlist, which contains covers of B.B. King, Robert Johnson and Jefferson Airplane tunes, can be found below. You can listen to the show above.


1. Don’t Want You No More
2. Rock Me Baby
3. Crossroads
4. Born In Chicago
5. Willie Jean Jam
6. Born Under A Bad Sign
7. She Has Funny Cars
8. Hey Joe
9. New Shoes Blues
10. Travellin’ Music Jam

Show 10 Comments