Current Issue Details

Buy Current Issue


Published: 2013/07/17

Bob Dylan to Release Another Self Portrait

Columbia Records will release the tenth volume of Bob Dylan’s Bootleg Series on August 27. Another Self Portrait (1969-1971) will consist of 35 previously unreleased recordings, demos and alternate takes drawn mainly from the 1970 recording sessions that resulted in Dylan’s pair of albums from that year, Self Portrait and New Morning.

Self Portrait ranks among Dylan’s least well-received albums, and consists primarily of re-imagined traditional and contemporary folk songs, including covers of Simon & Garfunkel’s “The Boxer” and Gordon Lightfoot’s “Early Mornin’ Rain.”

Another Self Portrait will contain a previously unavailable version of “Only A Hobo” and the demo version of “When I Paint My Masterpiece.” Dylan has also created a new painting as the cover art for the release. The Bootleg Series, Vol. 10 will be available as a standard two-disc configuration as well as in a four-disc deluxe box set, which will include, for the first time ever, Dylan’s complete performance with The Band from the Isle of Wight Festival on August 31, 1969. The deluxe edition will also include the newly remastered version of Self Portrait as well as two hardcover books featuring revisionist liner notes written by Greil Marcus (who famously started his Rolling Stone Self-Portrait review in 1970 with: “What is this shit?”). A vinyl version will include the albums 35 tracks on three LPs.

The complete Another Self Portrait track list can be found below.

Another Self Portrait Track List

CD 1

1. Went to See the Gypsy (demo)

2. In Search of Little Sadie (without overdubs, Self Portrait)

3.Pretty Saro (unreleased, Self Portrait)

4. Alberta #3 (alternate version, Self Portrait)

5. Spanish Is the Loving Tongue (unreleased, Self Portrait)

6. Annie’s Going to Sing Her Song (unreleased, Self Portrait)

7. Time Passes Slowly #1 (alternate version, New Morning)

8. Only A Hobo (unreleased, Greatest Hits II)

9. Minstrel Boy (unreleased, The Basement Tapes)

10. I Threw It All Away (alternate version, Nashville Skyline)

11. Railroad Bill (unreleased, Self Portrait)

12.Thirsty Boots (unreleased, Self Portrait)

13. This Evening So Soon (unreleased, Self Portrait)

14. These Hands (unreleased, Self Portrait)

15. Little Sadie (without overdubs, Self Portrait)

16. House Carpenter (unreleased, Self Portrait)

17. All the Tired Horses (without overdubs, Self Portrait)

CD 2

1. If Not for You (alternate version, New Morning)

2. Wallflower (alternate version, 1971)

3. Wigwam (original version without overdubs, Self Portrait)

4. Days of ’49 (original version without overdubs, Self Portrait)

5. Working on a Guru (unreleased, New Morning)

6. Country Pie (alternate version, Nashville Skyline)

7. I’ll Be Your Baby Tonight (Live with The Band, Isle of Wight 1969)

8. Highway 61 Revisited (Live with The Band, Isle of Wight 1969)

9. Copper Kettle (without overdubs, Self Portrait)

10. Bring Me a Little Water (unreleased, New Morning)

11. Sign on the Window (with orchestral overdubs, New Morning)

12. Tattle O’Day (unreleased, Self Portrait)

13. If Dogs Run Free (alternate version, New Morning)

14. New Morning (with horn section overdubs, New Morning)

15. Went to See the Gypsy (alternate version, New Morning)

16. Belle Isle (without overdubs, Self Portrait)

17. Time Passes Slowly #2 (alternate version, New Morning)

18. When I Paint My Masterpiece (demo)

Bob Dylan & The Band

Isle of Wight – August 31, 1969

1. She Belongs to Me

2. I Threw It All Away

3. Maggie’s Farm

4. Wild Mountain Thyme

5. It Ain’t Me Babe

6. To Ramona/Mr. Tambourine Man

7. I Dreamed I Saw St. Augustine

8. Lay Lady Lay

9. Highway 61 Revisited

10. One Too Many Mornings

11. I Pity the Poor Immigrant

12. Like a Rolling Stone

13. I’ll Be Your Baby Tonight

14. Quinn the Eskimo (The Mighty Quinn)

15. Minstrel Boy

16. Rainy Day Women #12 & 35

Show 1 Comments